General Elections 2018

General Elections 2018

Name of Candidate Profile Platform
Danni Beardy Aboriginal Students’ Representative Platform
Deepak Baanga General Representative Platform
Sukhroop Kaur President Platform
Daniel Kennedy Aboriginal Students’ Representative Platform
Jonathan Lum General Representative Platform
Ishan Malhotra International Students’ Representative Platform
Brian Qin Vice President Student Life Platform
Keshav Rai Vice President Internal Affairs Platform
Eknoor Singh Sekhon General Representative Platform
Gurleen Sidhu Vice President External Affairs Platform
Harsimrat Singh Diversity & Inclusion Representative Platform
Manpreet Singh General Representative Platform
Shubham Taneja General Representative Platform
Harmandeep Toor Vice President Student Life Platform
Navjot Warring Vice President Finance & Administration Platform

Election Campaigning

The election campaigning period starts on Friday, October 5, 2018 at 12 noon and closes Friday, October 12, 2018 at 4:30pm. Candidates are required to abide by campaign rules and conduct as set forth in Policy No. B2520 – Candidacy & Campaigning. Notably, they must remove all campaign materials on display including posters by Friday, October 12, 2018 at 4:30pm. Candidates found to be in violation of any of the candidacy and campaign rules will be disqualified by the CRO.

The All Candidates Forum

In order to increase voter awareness, an All Candidates Forum will be held Thursday, October 11, 2018 from 11:45am to 12:15pm in the main foyer (Upper Lounge) of the Students’ Union Building. All Candidates must be in attendance and available to meet the membership present at the Forum. Candidates must also prepare and read a short statement outlining their reasons for campaigning for a position on the Students’ Union Executive Board. Creativity and inventiveness are requested in an attempt to make the Forum an exciting event. Candidates not in attendance will have their candidacy revoked.

Counting of Ballots

Counting of ballots (by-law 9.11.1) will take place at the Students’ Union Building in the Boardroom and will start October 18, 2018 at 2:30pm.

Appointment of Scrutineers

Each candidate may appoint a scrutineer to observe the counting of ballots in accordance with by-law 9.11.2. The doors of the room where counting takes place will be locked and Scrutineers arriving even one minute late will not be allowed in under any circumstances.

Candidates must fill in a Scrutineer Appointment Form available from the Candidates Nomination Package. This form duly completed must be returned to the LSU Reception (S105) on or before October 16, 2018 at 2:00pm. Scrutineers must produce a valid piece of Id to be allowed in.

For more information, please stop by the LSU Office or contact the Chief Returning Officer at

Download: Election Results 2018

The list of candidates, their profiles and platforms, and a full description of the positions they are running for can be viewed by clicking on the link below:

List of Candidates

Official Notice of the Fall 2018 Election

Eligibility Period: Starts: Tuesday, September 4, 2018 at 12:30pm
Ends: Friday, September 14, 2018 at 4:00pm
Nomination Period: Starts: Monday, September 24, 2018, at 10:00am
Ends: Friday, September 28, 2018, at 4:00pm
Campaign Period: Starts: Friday, October 5, 2018, at 12:00 Noon
Ends:Friday, October 12, 2018, at 4:30pm
All Candidates’ Forum: Thursday, October 11, 2018
Time: 11:45am to 12:15pm
Location: Langara Students’ Union Building Upper Lounge.
Polling (Voting): Monday, October 15, 2018& Tuesday, October 16, 2018
Time: 10:00am to 5:00pm
Location: Main Foyer of “A” Building Wednesday, October 17, 2018.
Time: 10:00am to 5:00pm
Location: Langara Students’ Union Building Lower Lounge Friday Oct 18, 2018
Time: 10:00am to 2:00pm
Location: Langara Students’ Union Building Lower Lounge


Executive Board

One (1) President
One (1) Vice President Finance & Administration
One (1) Vice President Internal
One (1) Vice President Student Life
One (1) Vice President External Affairs

7 Members at Large

One (1) International Students’ Representative (designated)
One (1) Aboriginal Students’ Representative (designated)
One (1) Diversity & Inclusion Representative (designated)
Four (4) General Representatives


EXECUTIVE BOARD, INTERNATIONAL STUDENTS’, ABORIGINAL STUDENTS’, AND DIVERSITY & INCLUSION REPRESENTATIVE POSITIONS: The Eligibility term has now expired. All Eligible Candidates have received notification to pick up their nomination packages.

ALL POSITIONS: To Apply for a Nomination form, Students must email, and include their name, student number, and declared position. Nomination forms must be signed out at the LSU Office. Forms are only available from Monday, September 24, 2018 at 10:00 am to Friday, September 28, 2018 at 3:00pm. ONLY THOSE ON THE APPROVED ELIGIBILITY LIST WILL BE PROVIDED WITH NOMINATION FORMS FOR EXECUTIVE BOARD AND DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE POSITIONS. All completed forms must be returned to Students’ Union Reception Office NO LATER THAN 4:00 PM on Friday, SEPTEMBER 28, 2018.

Candidates should familiarize themselves with the LSU Constitution, Bylaws, policies and any other materials provided by the Electoral Committee and posted on the website at